Dance of the Cygnets by Tchaikovsky, arranged by Zoë Booth or three or more flutes/flute choir


The remarkable Russian composer Tchaikovsky first demonstrated his prodigious talent at an early age, shortly after beginning his piano studies. His music is best known for its beautiful melodies and intense expression, a reflection of the sensitivity of the man himself. Despite Tchaikovsky’s success as a composer of symphonies, concertos, chamber and dramatic music, he never achieved happiness in his private life and was known to have suffered with depression; his death from cholera at the age of fifty-three is suspected by many to have actually been caused by his own suicide.  

Dance of the Cygnets was written for Tchaikovsky’s first ballet ‘Swan Lake’, first performed in 1877. The rhythmical energy under the famous tune which skips over the top provides every member of the flute ensemble with an important role; this piece also features cross rhythms and enharmonic notes in the contrasting central section.

2-2.5 mins approx

Elementary to intermediate



One score and the following separate parts:

Flute 1

Flute 2

Flute 3

Easy Flute 1 (optional)

Easy Flute 2 (optional)

Alto Flute (optional)

Bb Clarinet (optional)


There are currently no reviews for this item; please send your comments to